ARRESTED FOR DWI?
Speak with a Rockwall criminal defense lawyer right away!
If a police officer determines you are likely under the influence behind
the wheel they may charge you with DWI even if your blood alcohol level
was technically under the legal limit of 0.08. Even if this is your first
DWI, you cannot afford a DWI conviction on your record given the immediate
penalties such as incarceration and also the indelible mark it will leave
on your criminal record.
You need a tough and knowledgeable Rockwall criminal defense attorney who
can stand up for you when accused of a crime. At The Law Offices of J.
Cameron Cowan, I have more than 200 jury trial cases under my belt which
complement my 12 years serving as a chief felony prosecutor. This means
I have a thorough understanding of criminal law and understand how prosecutors
think. I put this experience to work on behalf of all my clients in defending them.
What penalties do I face?
While the penalties for a DWI conviction can be harsh, an arrest is not
the same as a conviction and my first stands ready to push for your rights
in court or a settlement out of court.
Penalties for DWI in Texas are as follows:
1st Conviction—3 to 180 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, 90 to 365 days’
2nd Conviction—30 days to 1 year in jail, up to $4,000 in fines, and up to 2 years’
3rd Conviction—2 years in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, and up to 2 years’
You can be forced to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed
in your vehicle after your second conviction to avoid further intoxicated driving.
You should be aware that there is no “lookback rule” in Texas:
this means previous DWI convictions will be counted against you for future
DWI convictions. Even if your first conviction was 20 years ago, another
conviction will be considered your second and the penalties increased
You have a right to a defense!
The prosecution must prove beyond doubt that you were driving intoxicated
to find you guilty. As a Rockwall criminal defense lawyer, I can work
to undermine the prosecution’s case against you by arguing any number
If police did not stop you with probable cause or questioned you without
reading you your rights, your case could be dismissed. Reach out to my
firm and begin your defense as soon as possible.
Call me today for your free case evaluation—(972) 382-7011!